Bolo Rei and Bolo Rainha

Today is Kings Day. I leave you the suggestion of a King Cake and Queen Cake that I’ve made last year! 🙂

Devaneios de Chocolate

DSC02204

So, I hope that you had a great Christmas and a happy New Year just like mine! For the first time, this year, my family was all together and that made me really happy, like I wasn’t for a long time.

This year I only made one cake – our fantastic and famous Portuguese Bolo Rainha, but that only happened because I spent a huge time to prepare and cook Julia Child’s Boeuf Bourguignon. And for the first time, I have to say – not too shabby, not to shabby at all!

For those who don’t know what it is, Bolo Rainha (“Queen Cake”) is a traditional Portuguese Christmas cake, with almonds, raisins, nuts, pinions and hazelnuts. Is the queen of Bolo Rei (“King Cake”), which is the original Christmas Cake. Bolo Rei is traditional in Portugal and also common in Spain. It’s usual to eat the…

View original post 290 more words

Author: M.

I’m M., the baker. Mid 20’s, tourist guide by day, chocoholic and foodie by night. I love food and everything related to it. I decided to create this blog after discovering that I love being in the kitchen, get my hands dirty and create delicious meals and desserts. Once in a while and randomly I will post other things that I enjoy in life and makes me happy, but in the end, everything will lead us to food! :)

Leave a Reply

