Carob Brownies and the beginning of a tradition | Brownies de Alfarroba e o princípio de uma Tradição

1.

Are you one of those families that have something really old and special which is passed generation to generation?

Well, I belong to one of those families. When my grandmother died, we tried to preserve many of her things: jewelry, old pottery and even recipes.

Of course, we’ll never forget her and the moments we shared all together, but is good to know, when we’re cooking or baking in her wood-oven house, she is present at our side somehow: I know, it could sound strange and a little bit creepy.

Now that I enrolled in this baking/cooking adventure, I think that is something incredible. My grandmother left a few recipes, my mom has some of her own, and I would like to do the same.
2.
I would love to know – if possible – that my grand-grandchildren would recreate my recipes. For that, I’ve to work a lot and create the recipes to leave my signature in some way.

I have some recipes that I’m good at, but I was never completely satisfied, until know. Finally, I found my soul mate recipe. And who guessed that my best creation would born from a simple brownie recipe.

There is not so much science in baking brownies, but when you add some extra and very especial ingredients, it changes everything.

One of those “secret” ingredients – which isn’t a secret anymore, as you can read by the name – that I used is carob flour. (If you don’t know what carob is, you can always read here).

3.
Carob flour, sugar, eggs, hazelnuts and some Pomegranates to decorate: perfect combination and so far, my newly passion

And that’s how a family tradition or recipe begins. At least, I’m going to keep this recipe with me, hoping that someday it would be in my children hands, along with the others that I still have to create.

4.
And what about you? Do you have any old “something” that belonged to an ancestor of yours? Feel free to tell me about it; I think those things very very interesting! 🙂


São daquelas famílias que tenham algo realmente antigo e especial que passou de geração em geração? Bem, eu pertenço a uma dessas famílias. Quando a minha avó materna morreu, tentámos preservar muitas das suas coisas – jóias, loiça e até receitas.

Claro que nunca esqueceremos todos os momentos que passamos juntos, mas é bom saber, que quando estou a cozinhar ou a fazer bolos, ela está presente e a meu lado de alguma forma; eu sei, isto parece um pouco arrepiante.

Agora que estou nesta aventura de ser uma pasteleira/cozinheira, penso que isso seja algo incrível. A minha avó deixou algumas receitas, a minha mãe tem algumas dela própria, e eu também gostaria de fazer o mesmo. Adoraria saber se um dia os meus bisnetos irão criar e usar receitas minhas. Gostaria que sim! Mas para isso, tenho que trabalhar e deixar a minha assinatura de alguma forma.

Tenho algumas receitas em que sou realmente boa, mas nunca me satisfazem completamente. Até hoje. Finalmente encontrei a minha receita. E quem diria que a minha melhor receita fosse nascer de uma simples receita de brownie. Não existe grande ciência em fazer brownies, mas quando se adiciona determinados ingredientes especiais, muda tudo. Um desses ingredientes “secretos” – e só não é mais secreto porque está no titulo -, que usei foi farinha de alfarroba.

E é assim que se começa com tradições familiares ou receitas que passam de mão em mão. Por agora, vou manter esta receita para mim, na esperança que um dia irá chegar às mãos dos meus filhos, juntamente com as outras que irei criar.

Leave a Reply

