Apples time! | Hora de Maçãs!

1.

When we lived in Germany, my mom used to bake some fruit cakes in Winter. I don’t remember eat them, since I only would eat chocolate. But I remember her pineapple upside-down cake as well as other cakes with apples.

I can’t tell you much about my living in this singular country, given that I was very young, but I know today, that Germany gastronomy is very particular. At home, most of the times, my mother, used to cook our Portuguese traditional plates and deserts, instead of German’s.

I can remember that Christmas that my grandparents traveled to Germany to spend the festivity time with us. It was a happy and Portuguese Christmas!

I recall, almost exactly, their arrival in by our house’s front door. My father carrying their luggage, my grandmother after him, with her five feet tall and my grandfather after her, with his beret and his big belly – now that I think of it, his belly was just like Santa’s!

On Christmas Eve, my grandmother took the kitchen for herself. No one could enter in our tiny kitchen, she had us all forbidden. She was cooking a very special meal and only her knew how to do it right. Despite of forbidden to enter in the kitchen, the smell that came out of it, made it very clear – Cozido à Portuguesa (Portuguese stew).

It is a rich stew with beef, pork, Portuguese sausages (morcela, farinheira, chouriço de sangue, chouriço de carne…), served with cabbages, carrots, rice and potatoes. I have a photo that immortalized that moment for ever – my grandmother, in the kitchen, surrounded by cabbages and potatoes, with her apron and a very happy face.

But enough talk about my memories. I’m not here to present you any of it; I’m here to talk about my yesterday’s inspiration. The idea came out because of my mother’s cakes when we were in Germany. I can also say, it reminds me a special German desert, the Apfelstrudel, even though it is not similar in any kind of way, except for the apples!

This recipe is something that I came up with and it was a surprise in a good way, since it is delicious. And if it is possible to describe it in a word, it would be cozy.

200 g of all-purpose flour | farinha
190 g of sugar | açúcar
120 g of butter | manteiga
90 g of raisins | passas
7 Apples | maçãs
1 Teaspoon of baking powder | colher de sobremesa de fermento em pó
1 Teaspoon of vanilla essence | colher de sobremesa de essência de baunilha

Whisk the butter with the sugar, until pale and smooth.
Bater a manteiga com o açúcar.

Smash 4 apples, as substitute for the eggs (you can always use eggs. I only used apples to create a healthier recipe). Add the smashed apples to the butter with sugar and mix it well.
Esmagar 4 maçãs para substituir os ovos – pode no entanto usá-los. Adicionar as maçãs esmagadas à manteiga e açúcar e misturar bem.

Add the flour, the baking powder and the essence. Mix and let rest the dough for a minute or two.
Adicionar a farinha, o fermento e a essência. Misturar e deixar a massa repousar por um ou dois minutos.

Meanwhile, cut one apple in small cubes. Add them, and the raisins, to the dough.
No entretanto, corte uma maçã em cubos. Adicione e as passas à massa.

2.

Cut two apples in slices and place them on top of the dough; sprinkle sugar all over it, so it will be somewhat caramelized. Take it to the oven (180º C), about 40 – 45 minutes.
Corte duas maçãs em fatias e sobreponha sobre a massa. Polvilhe com açúcar. Leve ao forno (180º C) durante 40-45 minutos.

3.4.

It would be fun to return to those days, back to Germany, but with a slightly difference, where I could help my mom with her cakes and, who knows, combine our recipes. The rest could be the same, since it were happy times!


Quando vivi na Alemanha, a minha mãe costumava de fazer no Inverno muitos bolos de frutas. Não me lembro de propriamente de comê-los, já que eu só comia chocolate. Mas lembro-me do seu bolo de ananás, tal como outros em que usava maçãs. Não vos posso falar da minha experiencia ao viver neste país, já que era bastante nova, mas sei hoje que a gastronomia alemã é bem particular. Em casa, grande parte das vezes, a minha mãe fazia pratos bem Portugueses, tal como sobremesas, em vez de alemãs. E lembro-me dum Natal em particular, quando os meus avós maternos nos foram visitar e passar a época. Foi um Natal bem Português com a minha avó a fazer Cozido à Portuguesa para a Ceia de Natal.

Fiz precisamente este bolo por me ter lembrado dos bolos de fruta da minha mãe, e posso dizer que este faz-me lembrar, embora muito diferente do original, uma sobremesa típica alemã, Apfelstrudel. A receita foi criado do nada e foi uma boa surpresa já que se revelou ser bem deliciosa. E se pudesse descrevê-la numa palavra, essa palavra seria confortável.

Seria engraçado voltar aos dias em que vivíamos na Alemanha, mas com a diferença em que eu ajudaria a minha mãe nos seus bolos, e quem sabe, combinar as nossas receitas. O resto poder-se-ia manter igual, já que foram tempos muito felizes!

Author: M.

I’m M., the baker. Mid 20’s, tourist guide by day, chocoholic and foodie by night. I love food and everything related to it. I decided to create this blog after discovering that I love being in the kitchen, get my hands dirty and create delicious meals and desserts. Once in a while and randomly I will post other things that I enjoy in life and makes me happy, but in the end, everything will lead us to food! :)

Leave a Reply

